Crystal Talk
Text: Peter RumpfPhotos: Torsten Seidel, Werner Huthmacher

Profil

Staab Architekten


In the depths of Kreuzberg, Berlin, two courtyards back, a transverse commercial block, clinker facade, third floor, a spacious factory storey: the home of Staab Architekten. You can’t get much more typically Berlin than this. Yet somehow this relatively young studio and its 50 employees do not really fit in the Berlin scene, as it is seen on the outside and indeed as it sometimes sees itself: Prussian, clad in natural stone and a bit anemic, a dislike of ornamentation to the point of asceticism, square, practical, good, and easily mistakable for something else, people know each other, help each other, sometimes a participant in an invitation competition, sometimes a judge, flocking around Hans Stimmann, the almighty Senate Director of Building.


As opposed to the architecture produced by Staab Architekten, which certainly does not prescribe to a signature that is recognizable from afar. On the contrary, every project is noticeable for its own expression, unconventional spaces and new, surprising details. If anything a common denominator can be found in their concept of designing, in the "search for a reason for the shape", which is how Volker Staab and his partner Alfred Nieuwenhuizen attempt to define they way they approach their work.

So it comes as no real surprise that despite having a Kreuzberg address they have only actually worked on a handful of projects in Germany’s capital city, and far more in the country’s other federal states such as Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg, and Saxony, for example or, if need be, Mexico and Australia.

For 15 years now the studio’s success has been based almost exclusively on competitions it has won, starting with 1st prize in the nationwide open competition for the Neues Museum in Nuremberg (1991 through 1999) and 1st prize in the 1992 invitation competition for the extension to the Bavarian state parliament at the rear of the Maximilianeum, Munich’s defining Acropolis high above the River Isar. And as the only non-Bavarian studio to boot!


The fact that eight years later Staab Architekten was invited by the state government to re-design the assembly hall of the state parliament, won first prize and was subsequently awarded the contract speaks not only for the sensitivity it reveals in its treatment of historical, in other words difficult building fabric, but also for the liberal attitude of the developer. Much the same applies to the alteration work conducted in Klenze’s and Döllgast’s Alte Pinakothek in Munich, whose original entrance on the slender eastern side was re-opened. And, with a totally different outcome, to the Service Center at Therseienwiese, the home of the Oktoberfest, at the foot of Bavaria: an almost 100 meter-long block covered in copper sheet that conceals its facilities on the interior and in the basement. Each and every one an example of a successful liaison between Bavaria and Prussia.




Although neither Staab nor Nieuwenhuizen is Prussian by birth: one of them was born in 1957 in Heidelberg, the other, four years later, in Westphalia. Staab studied under Bernhard Hoessli at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich and Nieuwenhuizen under Gottfried Böhm at the RWTH Aachen University of Technology. They have known each other, they say, for ages, and when the order book (the building of a new chemical institute in 1996 in the Adlershof district of Berlin) demanded it, Nieuwenhuizen came on board as a partner of Volker Staab.

A sort of division of labor that stemmed not least from a focus on totally different building assignments quickly established itself: Staab concentrated primarily on exhibition architecture (in addition to the Nuremberg museum the Georg Schäfer Museum in Schweinfurt, 1997 through 2000, as well as others which were never realized, or have yet to be so such as for Porsche in Stuttgart, a granite museum in the Bavarian Forest and the Landesmuseum in Münster). His partner devoted himself to the design of institutes, such as in Adlershof (1st prize, 1995, completion 2001), a clinic for genomic research in Buch on the northern outskirts of Berlin (2001 through 2006), and university buildings in Heidelberg, Augsburg and Potsdam. Buildings of this nature call for different experience from that required for museums, whose method of function is determined primarily by urban planning and spatial qualities as well as materials and surfaces.



Talk of a division of labor that is if anything pragmatic says little about the innovational affinity of spirit with regard to their most important field, dealing with competitions. Well-functioning team work is the only thing that counts there. And as for how this leads to a solution, or to use the phrase again a "reason for the shape" it’s all revealed in the forthcoming interview.

However, verbal virtuosity, blowing their own trumpet or even chastising fellow architects is not their style, though in their branch you do come across people that do indeed conduct their PR work differently. So it comes as no real surprise that the biggest project the studio is currently working on, the enormous work plan for which, during the interview, is hanging on the wall behind us, hardly gets a mention: the spectacular alteration work on the Albertinum building, on the edge of the Brühlsche Terrassen in Dresden. The two-storey repository will be suspended to form a “roof” over the large, previously uncovered interior courtyard; hovering freely, there will be a befitting distance between its outer edges and the four surrounding buildings, allowing sufficient natural daylight to flood the new visitor hall that will be created below. The bold construction, which the architects proposed in response to the recent floods, when the River Elbe broke its banks, found favor in Dresden. So who needs work in Berlin?

Weiter Interview

Crystal Talk
Text: Peter RumpfFotos: Torsten Seidel, Werner Huthmacher

Profil

Staab Architekten


Tiefstes Berlin-Kreuzberg, zweiter Hinterhof mit Gewerbequerriegel, verklinkerte Fassade, dritter Stock, eine weiträumige Fabriketage: die Adresse von Staab Architekten. Berlin-typischer geht’s kaum. Dennoch passt dieses verhältnismäßig junge Büro mit seinen 50 Mitarbeitern nicht in die Berliner Szene, wie sie gern von außen gesehen wird und manchmal auch sich selbst sieht: preußisch, natursteinverkleidet und etwas blutarm, ornamentfeindlich bis zur Askese, quadratisch, praktisch, gut und zum Verwechseln ähnlich, man kennt sich, man hilft sich, mal als eingeladener Wettbewerbsteilnehmer, mal als Preisrichter, sich scharend um Hans Stimmann, den allmächtigen Senatsbaudirektor.


Anders die Architektur von Staab Architekten: Sie folgt keiner schon von weitem erkennbaren "Handschrift". Im Gegenteil, jedes Projekt überzeugt durch einen eigenen Ausdruck, durch unkonventionelle Räume und jeweils neue, überraschende Details. Das Gemeinsame findet man eher in der Konzeption des Entwerfens, in der "Suche nach dem Anlass der Form", wie Volker Staab und sein Partner Alfred Nieuwenhuizen ihren Arbeitsansatz zu definieren versuchen.

Kaum verwunderlich also, dass es trotz der Kreuzberger Adresse bisher nur wenige Projekte in der Hauptstadt gab, weit zahlreicher dafür in anderen Bundesländern wie Bayern, Baden-Württemberg, Sachsen und wenn es sein muss auch Mexiko oder Australien.

Die Erfolgsgeschichte des Büros gründet sich seit 15 Jahren nahezu ausschließlich auf gewonnene Wettbewerbe, beginnend mit dem 1. Preis im bundesoffenen Verfahren für das Neue Museum Nürnberg (1991 bis 1999) und dem 1. Preis beim beschränkten Wettbewerb für die Erweiterung des Bayerischen Landtags auf der Rückseite des Münchner Maximilianeums, jener stadtbildprägenden "Akropolis" hoch über der Isar 1992. Und das als einziges nicht-bayerisches Büro!


Dass Staab Architekten acht Jahre später noch einmal von der Regierung mit eingeladen wurden, den Plenarsaal des Landtags neu zu gestalten und wiederum 1. Preis und Auftrag errangen, spricht nicht nur für die Sensibilität im Umgang mit historischer, das heißt schwieriger Substanz, sondern auch für die Liberalität des Bauherrn. Ähnliches trifft auch für den Umbau von Klenzes bzw. Döllgasts Alter Pinakothek in München zu, deren ursprünglicher Eingang an der östlichen Schmalseite wieder geöffnet wurde. Und mit völlig anderem Ergebnis auch für das Servicezentrum auf der Oktoberfest-Wiesn zu Füßen der Bavaria: ein fast hundert Meter langer, mit Kupferblech überzogener Riegel, der seine Funktionen im Inneren und im Untergeschoss versteckt. Allesamt Beispiele einer gelungenen bayerisch-preußischen Liaison.




Dabei sind weder Staab noch Nieuwenhuizen gebürtige Preußen: der eine, Jahrgang 1957, stammt aus Heidelberg, der andere, vier Jahre älter, ist Westfale. Studiert haben sie an der ETH Zürich bei Bernhard Hoessli (Staab) und der RWTH Aachen bei Gottfried Böhm (Nieuwenhuizen). Sie kennen sich, wie sie sagen, seit ewigen Zeiten, und als die Auftragslage – 1996 der Neubau eines chemischen Instituts in Berlin-Adlershof – es erforderlich werden ließ, stieg Nieuwenhuizen als Partner bei Volker Staab ein.

Schnell hat sich eine Art Arbeitsteilung ergeben, die nicht zuletzt von einer Spezialisierung für sehr unterschiedliche Bauaufgaben herrührt: Staab verlegte sich vornehmlich auf die Sparte Ausstellungsarchitektur (neben Nürnberg das Museum Georg Schäfer in Schweinfurt, 1997 bis 2000, und andere, nicht oder noch nicht realisierte wie das für Porsche in Stuttgart, ein Granit-Museum im Bayerischen Wald oder das Landesmuseum in Münster). Sein Partner widmete sich den Institutsbauten, z.B. in Adlershof (1. Preis 1995, Fertigstellung 2001), ein Laborgebäude für Genomforschung in Buch am Nordrand Berlins (2001 bis 2005), oder Universitätsbauten für Heidelberg, Augsburg und Potsdam. Derartige Bauten erfordern nun mal andere Erfahrungen als Museen, deren „Funktionieren“ vor allem von städtebaulichen und räumlichen Qualitäten sowie von Materialien und Oberflächen bestimmt wird.



Wenn hier von einer eher pragmatischen Aufgabenteilung die Rede ist, sagt das wenig über die innovatorische Seelenverwandtschaft auf ihrem wichtigstem Feld, der Bearbeitung von Wettbewerben. Da zählt ausschließlich eine funktionierende Teamarbeit. Und wie diese sich einer Lösung, oder um es zu wiederholen: einem „Anlass der Form“ nähert, verraten die beiden hier im Gespräch.

Verbale Virtuosität, geschmeidige Selbstwerbung oder gar Kollegenschelte ist allerdings ihre Sache nicht. Da kann man in ihrer Branche ganz andere Überzeugungstäter treffen. Und so erstaunt es auch nicht, dass das momentan umfangreichste Projekt des Büros, das in einem riesigen Werkplan beim Interview hinter uns an der Wand hängt, kaum Erwähnung findet: der spektakuläre Umbau des Dresdner Albertinums am Rande der Brühlschen Terrassen. Das zweigeschossige Depot wird als „Dach“ über den großen, bisher offenen Innenhof gehängt, frei schwebend und an den Rändern einen gebührend großen Abstand zu den vier umgebenden Gebäuden haltend, um so genügend Tageslicht in die neu entstehende Besucherhalle darunter bringen zu können. Die kühne Maßnahme, die von den Architekten als Reaktion auf das Elbe-Hochwasser vorgeschlagen wurde, konnte in Dresden überzeugen. Was braucht es da Aufträge in Berlin?

Weiter Weiter zum Interview